Is my Tile app running in the background?

 

To ensure that your Tiles are constantly connecting and receiving updated locations, our app needs to be running in the background of your device.

 

Not sure what "running in the background" means? We can help!

 

 

  1. Start by double-clicking the Home button at the bottom of your phone or tablet.
  1. You will see small window versions of all the recent apps you have been using.
  1. To close out an app completely, simply swipe up on that window.

 

Why does the app need to be running in the background? 

Leaving your app running in the background of your device is essential if you want to get the most value out of your Tile. When you have the Tile app running in the background, your location information is continuously updated as long as your Tile is within Bluetooth range.

Force-closing the app at any time severs the connection between the Tile app and your Bluetooth antenna. When that happens, your Tile is still functioning normally; it continues to broadcast its location via Bluetooth. However, since the app is closed there's no one on the other end of the line to pick up the call.

Back to Support Home