The Tile community is safe and completely anonymous. Other Tile users will not be able to see your Tiles, nor will you be able to view theirs. The only time someone can view your Tile is if you have shared it with them on the Tile app.
We appreciate the feedback we have been getting from the Tile community. Please note that technology exists today to track items, and these devices are concealable (e.g. GPS), and are more accurate than Tile. Tile is not bringing anything new in terms of small devices with the ability to track lost things. We're simply using a different method, Bluetooth, and a unique business model.