How do I share my Tile?

Make your search party even bigger!

You can share each of your Tiles with one other email address. Sharing a Tile mean you and that special someone can both update the Tiles location, ring the Tile, look for its last known location on the map, and ask to be notified when the Tile is found!

 

It’s super simple! You can either watch or read the steps below!

How to share your Tile:

          

  

  1. In the app, tap on the Tile you want to share.
  2. Click the “Options” menu, and then tap “Share with”
  3. Type in the email address of the person you want to invite to share your Tile.

Once the person you’ve invited to share your Tile accepts, they’ll be able to have access to it whether or not you’re in Bluetooth range!

Do keep in mind, however, that if both of you are in Bluetooth range, the Tile will automatically connect to the device that’s closest to it!

 

How to Unshare your Tile:

 

  1. In the app, tap on the Tile you want to unshare.
  2. Click the “Options” menu, and then tap “Share with”
  3. Once you unshare your Tile it will disappear from the other person’s account.

 

 

FAQ’s: Shared Tiles

Q: How do I know if someone’s shared their Tile with me?

A: If someone has invited you to share their Tile, you’ll notice a new Tile appear in your list of Tiles in your app. There’ll be a small bubble next to the newly shared Tile, containing the first two letters of the Tile’s user’s email!

For example, if tiler@thetileapp.com is sharing their Tile with you, “TI” will appear in the bubble next to the shared Tile.

If you tap on the shared Tile, you’ll see near the bottom of your screen (just above the map) who the Tile is shared by!

 

Q: Can I share my Tile with someone who has a different kind of phone than I do?

A. Sure! As long as the person you’re trying to share your Tile with has the app on their device, and they have an account, you can share your Tile with no trouble at all! 

If they don’t have the app or an account, you can send them an invitation to create an account via email.

 

Q: Can we both ring a shared Tile? Why not?

A: No. Think of it as “first come, first serve.” You can only ring a Tile when you’re connected to it, and your Tile will connect to the device that’s closest to it.

 

Q: What if accepting a shared Tile brings me over the connection limit?

 Although you can add an unlimited number of Tiles to your list, your app can only connect to 8 Tiles on iOS, and 4 Tiles on Android at once.

This is a factor of Bluetooth limitations.

You will be able to see all your own Tiles, and the Tiles that are shared with you, in your app, but your app will connect to the top 8 or 4 in the list. You can rearrange the list but dragging and dropping your Tiles in the order of your choosing.

 

Q: Does sharing work with my current Tiles or do I need to buy a new one?

 Sharing your Tile is a software-enabled feature, not a hardware-enabled one. You can share your Tile regardless of which generation you have. You simply need to make sure you have the latest version of the Tile app.

Back to Support Home